Senior Dhamma School Lesson – 11th July 2021


What was taught 13th June 2021

1. Buddha Vandhana
2. Loving-kindness meditation
3. Thought of the day
4. Mangala Sutta –

Dānañca dhammacariyā ca – Ñātakānañ ca saṅgaho
    Anavajjāni kammāni – Etaṁ maṅgalamuttamaṁ

Topics – 11th July 2021

  1. Mangala Sutta – continued Verse 7

Ārati virati pāpā To cease and abstain from evil,
Majjapānā ca samyamoforbearance with respect to

Appamādo ca dhammesuand steadfastness in virtue;
Etam mangala muttamam
this is Blessing Supreme

2. Learn about an outstanding Lay Followers

Home work

Learn about Dana (Giving) – refer to reading notes
Notes on “Dana” (giving)

Dana is a word in the Pali language meaning giving, offering, generosity and liberality, and refers to the act of intentionally giving something to another person.

What is offered by a donor to a recipient in an act of giving (dana) can generally be divided into three groups:

  1. Material gifts (amisa dana)
  2. Gift of fearlessness (abhaya dana), and
  3. Gift of the teaching (doctrine) (dhamma dana)

Amisa dana:
Generally, there are ten material items that a donor could offer to a recipient in performing an act of giving:

  1. Food
  2. Drink
  3. Clothes to wear
  4. Means of transportation
  5. Garlands
  6. Perfumes
  7. Medicines and ointments
  8. Beds on which to sleep
  9. Facilities for lighting, and
  10. Houses or dwelling places

According to the disciplinary rules for the Buddhist monks and nuns (vinaya), lay followers can give four groups of material gifts to the Buddhist clergy:

  1. Robes to wear (civara dana)
  2. Food (pindapatha dana)
  3. Dwelling places (senasana dana), and
  4. Medicines (gilanpasa dana)

Abhaya dana:
The gift of fearlessness can be practised by practising loving kindness, or metta, to all living beings and also by observing the five precepts

of Buddhist morality for lay followers so that fellow human beings and all other living beings may live with no fear of any harm.

The five precepts of Buddhist morality are:
1. Abstaining from killing any living beings
2. Abstaining from taking that which is not given
3. Abstaining from sexual misconduct
4. Abstaining from telling lies, and
5. Abstaining from alcohol and intoxicants that lead to delay and carelessness

Dhamma dana:
In the gift of teaching (dhamma dana), the donor, usually a member of the Buddhist clergy or a learned lay Buddhist, will teach the Buddha’s teaching so that the recipients are able to understand the teachings, to follow them and to progress in their spiritual development towards liberation from all suffering. Those who are not in a position to teach may also practise dhamma dana by organising Buddhist sermons, publishing and distributing Buddhist teaching materials and also by taking part in Buddhist discussions and encouraging others in practical aspects of Buddhist teaching. Buddha has considered the gift of teaching as superior to all other gifts and, as such, in Verse 354 of the Dhammapada declared that:

“Sabba danam dhamma danam jinati”
“The gift of dhamma excels all gifts”

In addition to material gifts, gift of fearlessness and gift of teaching, a donor could also donate other gifts such as, time, attention, listening, care, respect, knowledge, skills, kindness, sympathy, etc.

Are qualities if practiced to perfection can lead to “Buddhahood” 
There are different “paramis” 
Giving is one parami
Three different types of giving:
1. Dana Parami – basic perfection of giving
    Giving of one’s children, wives, and belongings such as wealth
2. Dana upaparami – intermediate perfection of giving
    Giving of one’s own limbs
3. Dana paramatthaparami – ultimate perfection of giving 
    Giving of one’s own life